<>
| Current | Old stuff | Profile | Notes | Diaryland |

Single Serving
2023-01-14, 11:35 a.m.

What is there to say?

It's always hard getting started when I've been away for a while.

Today, when I went to play the lottery in a different part of town a woman jumped into my conversation. It's not unusual for people to be more friendly when the jackpot is high. Everyone gets all giddy with excitement thinking they might win.

A single-serving friend you might even say.

A moment in time never to be repeated where people share their hopes and dreams.

We will call her Katie and in a span of a few moments the conversation changed from the highs of a multi-million dollar jackpot to the death of her husband.

I've tilted conversations towards Frans passing with strangers many times before so this terrain was very familiar to me.

Katie cried then I cried.

Her pain and sadness prompted my sadness to bubble forth. There we were two perfect strangers in tears in front of a cashier luckily there was no one else around.

I held her hand and comforted her as best I could while trying not to blubber too much myself.

I gave my number to her and told her that if she needed to talk please call anytime. I told her you are not alone.

She gave me her number as well and told me the same thing.

A few moments ago we shared a few texts.

I guess she might not be a single-serving friend after all.


Last Five

Grinding - 2023-03-03
The Box - 2023-03-02
Ghosting - 2023-03-01
Waste Of Time - 2023-02-28
Cue The Tears - 2023-01-19

| sex | drugs |